Please STOP anonymising "old" routes!
ABRP has a very irritating, but apparently deliberately designed, habit of removing all waypoints in a route we have not used for a while.
They look like this when they are reopened:

Several users have queried this and the answer is that “it’s designed that way”. Why? Who asked you to “anonymise” my routes? Why can’t I turn this off? Why isn’t it documented? How old is “old”?
The example above comes from a route last saved just 7 weeks ago.
Here’s why it’s annoying. I plan long complex European road trips. I create an itinerary with charging stops etc. I do this months (up to a year) before the trip, so I can book hotels etc. Then just before the trip I go back in and refine the route. And I find ABRP has deleted all my stop information!
This is an absurd piece of unwanted functionality. Please can it be removed, or at least give us a switch to turn it off.
- Where does this happen?
- ABRP version number (found at bottom of settings menu)
Log in to comment and vote
Comments9
Anne O’Neamus
Aug 18, 2025
Can you restore the plans it’s happened to, or do I have to re-enter the entire plan?
Linda ABRP
Aug 18, 2025
Hi
We are still trying to fix this. For some reason it happens to som users and we need to figure out why.
Anne O’Neamus
Aug 18, 2025
•Merged request
•1 vote
All destinations in plan now say "My location"
Loaded a plan which I created last year. The plan calculates correctly, but when I press Cancel or Restart so I can edit some of the points, ALL destinations and waypoints now say “My position”.
Same thing happens in both Web and IOS app.
Bug uploaded around 1348 BST today.
Linda ABRP
Jun 17, 2025
Hi
Is the plan more than a year old? After a year we will anonymize the waypoints for privacy reasons.
Anne O’Neamus
Jun 17, 2025
Yes it could be although I thought more like 8-10 months old. Why do you anonymise a private plan in my own library? Does this mean I have to re-create it from scratch??
Linda ABRP
Jun 17, 2025
In the list with saved plans you will see the date for the saved plan under each plan.
We are not allowed to save data from users older than a year, at which point the addresses are replaced.
If you send me a link to the plan we can look at it. Click at Share plan and Share ABRP link.
Anne O’Neamus
Jun 17, 2025
Plan is dated November 2024.
Here is a link:
https://abetterrouteplanner.com/?plan_uuid=db64de69-a26f-47d9-a046-ce439a868b7c
Linda ABRP
Jun 17, 2025
Thanks.
Anne O’Neamus
Jun 27, 2025
I recreated the plan that had no waypoints and it has happened again to the new one. All the steps are shown as “My position” so I can’t meaningfully edit it. Can you please see what can be done about this?
https://abetterrouteplanner.com/?plan_uuid=c760d022-c9e5-4de7-934d-264b40c12cb8