Skip to main content

Accessing current route from other devices

New ABRP over here, who is on the trial period of the app.

I’m using a S3XY Dash which offers CarPlay. The experience for the driver is very good, however for the rest of the passengers is not ideal because they can’t see the next events coming up on my tiny screen.

I managed to access ABRP on Tesla’s infotainment, but after a while connection died and I could no longer access the site unless I cleared the cache over and over. Accessing ABRP site is painful on Tesla’s infotainment.

During our trip today, my wife who was sitting next to me accessed ABRP but she could not see on her phone the current route we were on. I sent her a real time link but when she accessed it, she could see the trip preferences but not the real route I was on CarPlay.

Could you possibly provide guidance on how to make passengers experience great?

thank you!!

Status: Completed8 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments8

  • Linda ABRP

    Team•

    May 13

    Hi

    She can log in at the same account on her phone, load the plan and click at Drive. Then she will see the same as you.

    • ABRP User #1748158

      •

      May 31

      Hi Linda,

      I had already tried that but in my experience, if she does that wouldn’t she be planning a new drive, which may lead to potentially being proposed a different route if conditions have changed between when I planned the drive and set off, and when she does that?

      • ABRP User #1748158

        •

        Aug 5

        Hi @Linda ABRP !

        I wonder if using the option “Share live drive” could actually allow passengers to hook up into my drive?

        The scenario I’m interested in is I’m following a certain drive plan and all of the sudden ABRP proposes a better route (because traffic is clearing up ahead of me, or for whatever reason). How can I have my passengers seamlessly continue to see what my real drive plan looks like?

        Thanks in advance and apologies if it is very obvious but based on what I have experienced in the past, I must be doing something wrong.

        thanks

        • Linda ABRP

          Team•

          Aug 10

          Yes you can use Share live drive.

          • ABRP User #1748158

            •

            Aug 10

            Understood but I should have been more precise with my previous post. While the above addresses the situation IF my guests have a smartphone with them (my wife for example), none of my kids actually have own one.

            I honestly think that the ABRP community would benefit from an easy way to see the live route on Tesla Nav. The way it is is very complicated and the only way I managed to accomplish this has been by sharing the live route link with the car, managing to send the very long and difficult to type live route link with Tesla Nav.

            • Linda ABRP

              Team•

              Aug 10

              We would also have liked it to work on the screen in Tesla cars. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about it. Tesla changes things all the time and unfortunately it is negative for Tesla owners. I can take it to my colleagues and see if there is anything we can do to make it better.

              • ABRP User #1748158

                •

                Aug 10

                I discovered the website teslasend.link and that solved typing the long URL on Tesla Nav. However the whole process is long and clunky, and requires a somewhat IT savvy profile siting at the wheel. My wife is anything but that.

                While Tesla can make it hard for 3rd party routing services like you from login in or retaining an auth token, once one is logged in ABRP on Tesla Nav, accessing the live route should be way easier that it currently is in my opinion.

                Thanks

    • ABRP User #1748158

      •

      Aug 23

      Hi @Linda ABRP ,

      Would what you suggested not create a new drive plan that would not be in sync with what the driver is sees in case a different alternative is selected during the drive by the driver?

      This is what I would expect: as I’m using my account on my S3XY Dash device and I’ve already selected a route which I’m following while I drive, I would expect for my wife to see that live route when she opens the app using my account and be able to consume my live route and not a separate plan